Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [eBay Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Support and Information > Smokstak Forums Meet and Greet
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Smokstak Forums Meet and Greet Welcoming Smokstakers New and Old, a place to say a bit about yourself and post a photo if you're really brave. If you have a technical question, please post it on one of our other boards.

Smokstak Forums Meet and Greet

Another Newbie Here from Westminster, MD

this thread has 7 replies and has been viewed 1561 times

Old 09-23-2009, 05:14:18 PM
Registered-I

Default Another Newbie Here from Westminster, MD

I'm looking to purchase my first hit and miss engine to run my old corn sheller. I would greatly appreciate some help in choosing an engine and any other help available.

It's all new to me.
Sponsored Links
Old 09-23-2009, 06:11:48 PM
Registered-II

Default Re: Another Newbie Here

Try to find something complete and running. A non-running engine may seem less expensive but will cost you more in the long run. Be patient. Get to know the engines and prices a little. I have made good and bad purchases and sometimes it is an expensive learning experience. If you stick to the more common engines parts are easier and cheaper to get. Fairbanks-Morse is the most common manufacturer with many others also very plentiful. Keep us posted. The guys (and ladies) on this site are very helpful. If I can be of nay help do not hesitate to ask. You are on the other side of the state but I get up there every so often. If you get ot the eastern shore feel free to stop by. I can show you alot of examples of bad purchases (and a few good ones).
The Following User Says Thank You to Jeff Miley For This Post:
Old 09-23-2009, 08:14:46 PM
Subscriber

Thanked 1,329 Times in 807 Posts