• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron, please register and join us. When you register on Smokstak, give complete answers and fill in all blanks. Be Considerate, this is an application to JOIN Smokstak, therefore it becomes part of a decision to open the door to you or send you off to the dropout file. Place your City, State, Country in the location box and it will be compared to where the internet lookup utilities say that you are. Don't give me a zip code to look up, the Eject button is much easier. We get hundreds of applications, so there is not time for monkey business.

2.5R21 Electric start issues

wh1630

Registered
Hello Everyone, this is my first time posting here, so here goes nothing...

Recently I came into the possession of a Kohler 2.5R21 electric plant powered by a k161 engine. When I first got the unit, I connected a lawn tractor battery to the control box's battery leads, and flipping the switch to the 'start' position, the unit spun up and attempted to start as would be expected. Since then, I have replaced the old, faulty ignition components (magneto, breaker points, condenser, and spark plug), and rebuilt the carburetor. When I reassembled the unit, I was able to get it to run using the electric start. However, flipping the start switch now causes the contactor on the left (labeled as 'CR") to make a buzzing noise as if it's trying to close. Using a wooden dowel, I pushed the contacts closed, and the unit came to life. Additionally, flipping the switch to 'stop' does not stop the engine for some reason, as I have to press the button on the side of the points box to shut it down.

The controller is a model A-233094, and I am using a 300 cca / 375 ca 12 volt battery to start it.

Any suggestions as to what could be causing this would be appreciated.

jack0

Registered
It sounds like the switch is bad or wiring issues. The mag. is grounded for shutdown through the CR relay. The coil probably isn't getting 12 volts.