• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron, please register and join us. When registering, please provide your CITY and STATE in your location!

4.0BGE Flooding questions, and 220V conversion?

wvukidsdoc

Registered
Hi all, new to posting here, but been skimming the excellent advice for a couple of years. So onto the question. This is my 4th 4.0 BGE, I actually love these things, have never started with one running, have never put more than $10 into one. My first 2, carb cleaning/rebuild, now backup power in my dad's and sisters houses, my last one (when I found this forumn) the dread slip ring resistance, came and went with the RV that moved us here to AK. Anyway, I'm not a novice to engine repair. So this one is a spec C, points style machine. Bought for a whopping $100 the other day. PO said, "I replaced the points, a plug wire, and fiddled with it and it ran and made power but puffed black smoke." It was cold, the price was right, I noted it looked like it had been sprayed with a dry chemical extinguisher at the carb, but handed over the whopping asking price without looking at it too hard.