• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron machinery, register and join us. When you register on Smokstak, please give complete answers and fill in the blanks. - IF YOU ARE ON WIRELESS OR SATELLITE, ENTER YOUR CITY AND STATE! NO ZIPCODES! All registrations are manually approved.

Cant get any spark on my Lincwelder 225

justweldit

Registered
Ive got early/mid seventies Lincwelder 225 with an ONAN CCKA generator. Ive had it for a few years and other than a dead battery now and then, Its always ran great. Its been sitting outside for about a year or so now, (my fault) and it wont start now. I can get it to turn over but theres no spark. So far Ive looked at the magneto, cleaned everything etc but still no spark. I was thinking of buying new point/condenser. I just popped the cover off and they do look dirty so Ill try cleaning them first. Also I think the plug wires are shot, they look real bad. Im not really experienced with small engines and any advise would be great. And also, wheres the best place to get parts?
Thank You

Arlie Levy

Registered
When an engine sits outside you will have problems. You are on the right track. Clean and regap the points. Make sure the wiring is ok. Check kill switch first. You will probably have some fuel and carberator problems. You can do it. It takes time and patience. Arlie

justweldit

Registered
Thanks. I'm confident Ill find the problem eventually. Please be more specific about the mag wire and Ill try it. Thanks

Dempster

Registered
The kill or stop wire from the mag to the switch I think he meant? Disconnect it as the wire or switch could be bad or grounding it out and then see if you have fire at the plugs. Corroded points aren't going to let it fire and condensers or coils can go bad just sitting with age. Use a good copper or metallic core spark plug wire on a magneto and non resistor spark plugs. Get it flushed out with some fresh gas and may need new spark plugs as well.

Michaeljp86

Registered