• The old site search from Google needs to be updated. Use the Search at the Upper Right, or use What's New in the center - it has a drop down arrow. You will need to change your Favorits by right click mouse and clicking favorites. Many of the posts in How to Use This Web Site are old so the links may or may not work. I have one hell of a lot of work to do!

Detroit Moto-Mower, Super Detroit

Jim Bracken

Hi,

I'm a newbie here. I just purchased the above referenced mower. The engine tag is unreadable, but I got the following numbers through a rubbing. Near the top the following numbers appear. 300362 several spaces then 198357. I went to a yahoo group and posted this info. I learned that this engine is a model "B", manufactured in July 1948.

Given that information and the model number D-18174 on the mower, I would appreciate any information available on the mower and engine that any of y'all might have. I'd like to restore this to it's original beauty, that I recall when I used one of these massive mowers in the late fifties/early sixties.

Thanks,
Jim

Jonathan Widelo

Jim,

Do you happen to have a picture of the mower ? I have a an original copy of a manual for one of these ( an early version from the 1930's) I know the first ones used Briggs WA engines, which are very rare. I think these were the largest Moto-Mowers made at that time. I have a Detroit (27" Cut) model and a few City Models (21" Cut). John Rolli otherwise know as "Motomowers" on here knows a great deal about these mowers, he would be the guy to contact.

~ Jonathan

Motormowers

Subscriber
Jim, my Moto-Mower pamphlet lists your engine type number as a 1948 model although its 300632 not 300362. The mower ser # would list it as a 1947 model though. I guess 1948 Super Detroit Models had no mower ser# and they started back at ser# 16,000 which they used in 1946-47. STRANGE. :bonk:

kelby