Diesel generator fabrication

mianrehman60

I am new to smokstak forum. Thanks for allowing me to become a member.
I need some guidance in fabricating a diesel generator. The generator is being put together in my farm garage. The prime mover is a used diesel toyota engine and the generator is 10 KW. Coupling is through a flexible universal joint. Question that I have is: should i use a additional rotating weight or the weight of the engine flywheel is adequate. Any help will be much appreciated. https://www.smokstak.com/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif

BTPost

One question that might need some serious attention, if this was a vehicle Engine is, What are you going to do for a Governor? Vehicle Engines don't usually have a Constant Speed Governor, and that will be needed for a Genset Application...

mianrehman60

appreciate response. I think you are correct. The response will be delayed. The added weight will make the system even worst as there is no governor to rev up the prime mover upon load. However this is crude setup only for light load i.e. lighting etc. which remains constant. The question arose when the fabricator wanted to add rotating weight to which i disagreed.

mianrehman60

BT post Hi. You are correct vehicles engines are not designed to be used for such an application as there max HP is at a much higher RPM than what is required for generator application 1500 - 1800 RPM and the governor situation as you mentioned. However our is a crude set up for light load which more or less will stay constant. And the engine used is off a vehicle not the best option. The question arose as the fabricator wanted to add a rotating weight to which I had my reservations.

Vanman

Subscriber