• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron machinery, register and join us. When you register on Smokstak, please give complete answers and fill in all blanks. IF YOU ARE ON WIRELESS OR SATELLITE, GIVE YOUR CITY AND STATE! NO ZIPCODES! All registrations are manually approved.

Honda: EM7000is overload lamp

Fabreezai

Registered
New to the forum, so Ill jump right in!

Em7000is A3
#GCAA-1675680
Overload LED on
Starts, approx 8 sec. shuts down.
E10 and E20 code

Gen set was given to me, been sitting for about 2.5 years.
I have no service manual for this unit.
I understand the codes mean no communications between GCU and inverter.
I am a electrician/electronics tech by trade.
Looking for info on diagnostic measurements:

Test for stator

Test for GCU (if there is one)

Test for inverter (I did manage to find some info on this and it tested good, but not sure if said info is valid)

Would like to use this unit to replace my backup gen set for the house.

Any help/info would be well appreciated!!

Last edited:

Vanman

Subscriber
Last Subscription Date
07/10/2019
Sounds like a great deal! Sorry though, I don’t have any knowledge on these machines. Mine are 1960’s and prior. NO electronics! ;) There are others here that are more familiar, just have to wait for them to find your thread.

Oh, and welcome to the ‘Stak! :wave:

Keith.

Fabreezai

Registered
Thanks Keith-

I have searched and searched for a answer but no luck. seems like the info I am seeking is closely guarded secret. Maybe all that info was redacted so no one can read it. 🤷‍♂️

Fabreezai

Registered
Thanks jerry-
I was hoping someone would be kind enough to help me with this small bit of info to justify keeping the unit before I spent any money on it. Thank you for the link.

Fabreezai

Registered
Might be a bad inverter. At least their easy to change