• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron, please register and join us. When registering, please provide your CITY and STATE as your location!

Fired my air cooled Red Wing

BrianThomas

Registered
Hello every one. I fired my red wing Tuesday night and it runs good but I have some questions for the veterans. I have plenty of experience with the real versions of these models but not with the model en of it. So it started good and the little buzz box is very powerful. My questions are, what kind of fuel do you guys use? I tried gas and it stinks to beat all but ran fair? I tried Coleman fuel, it runs but is not as consistent in running like it is on gas. The next one is, the timer contacts will get dirty after about 20 min of running and I have to clean them all te time. It's more frequent than I think it should be? At this pace I'm going to need to make a new ring and post before you know it! I want to know a suitable plug gap and the latch out on the push rod ( how much space between the latch and the slider on the push rod) how much clearance on the rocker to push rod? I know the real engine are forgiving but this motor is tempermental.

Here's a video of it running.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lGA-cOi8-Mk&feature=youtube_gdata_player

gbritnell

Registered
Re: Fired my air cooled red wing.