• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron, please register and join us. When registering, please provide your CITY and STATE as your location!

George White No. 6 Individual Steel Thresher

Gearjammer Jake

Registered
Hello all,

I am new to Smokstak, and antique equipment in general. While I have spent my entire life on my father and grandfather's farms, this machine is my first personal foray into collecting. As such, I have some questions. But first, the story of the hunt!

This is how I first laid eyes on the old thresher. My father was doing custom planting for a local Amish family, and he sent me up the road to another Amish man's barn to get the seed we were to use. Upon opening the door of the barn, I was greeted by the sight of the dusty relic.

Upon further inspection, the thresher proved to be a Canadian built George White No. 6 steel thresher. While I know very little about this particular brand--or threshers in general--i knew enough to see this machine was in stellar shape. When it was mentioned that the machine could be for sale, I knew it would be coming home on the back of my truck!

Attachments

ulgydog56

Registered
jake.. nice fine, the amish are famous for doing mods on old equipment, bring her back to original..:brows:

G Willikers

Sponsor
Last Subscription Date
05/01/2019
George White was still in business into the 1980s. Not sure when it quit making the No. 6, but perhaps in the late 1950s? They were also sold under the Massey-Harris name, and I think GW made them for John Deere for Canadian sales.
There are still quite a few around Ontario. I owned one a few years back but never threshed with it. They are a reliable mill.