• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron, please register and join us. When registering, please provide your CITY and STATE as your location!

Hornsby Ackroyd

E27N

Subscriber
Last Subscription Date
01/06/2020
Ozfarm and I were having a look at this engine sitting in our club yesterday and were wondering if any one could give us any info on it

IMG_0011.JPG

IMG_0012.JPG

IMG_0013.JPG

Paul Richardson

Subscriber
Last Subscription Date
01/05/2020
I'm thinking that one is what is commonly referred to as a '1905 style' Hornsby? It carries quite a good few similar features to the Akroyd patent engines but also some distinct changes.I am not an expert on Hornsby oil engine development but I think this style of oil engine with it's changes mainly to the valve arrangement, went into production around 1905 when the Akroyd patents expired.
It looks like a nice little engine to me!There may be a horsepower number embossed in the cylinder casting somewhere on the engine pictured?The other thing that stands out a little to me is the water jacketed rear section on the hotbulb.To my knowledge(once again not expert)there were generally two models in the 1905 style,and I think this one with the water cooling to the rear section of the hotbulb was known as a 'type B' '05 style?
The 'type A' might be a little more common,the hotbulb being a simple cast iron cylinder with no water cooling.
The water cooling to the hotbulb also appeared among some of the Akroyd engines dating earlier than 1900.These were referred to as '1900 style' as well as 'improved Akroyd'(with the water cooling to the hotbulb) in some of the companys literature and records.
The 'Improved Akroyd' and 'type B' would carry a higher horsepower rating than similar sized Hornsby oil engines without the advantage of the water cooling.