How many Years of Collecting?

How Many Years Have You Collected Stationary Engines?

• Total voters

Chris J

How many years have some of you guys been collecting engines? I know some of you were lucky enough to start in the 1960's when the engines were cheaper rather than in the last 10 years like I have. Well, thats all for now!

Good Luck Hunting!

Jordan

chris,

i have been collecting for 5 years or less, i have been involved in the hobby longer than that though.my grandpa has been at it for at least 30 yrs.

jf

S

Sky

I've been around engines in general for 15 years.....add 40 for the mechanical part of the family but we just started collecting about 4 years ago. Didnt even know there was this much of a wide veritey of "iron" ti'll we started going to portland.

Junkologist

Subscriber
The first show I exhibited at was in 1979, so this year is at least 30 years for me. Can hardly believe it's been that long... Time sure flies when you're having fun!

LCJudge

Subscriber
I bought my first engine in 1972 when I was 12 years old. It was a Ottawa Log Saw, hit and miss model. I've still got it!

Polfin

I've been collecting hit miss engines for less than 5 yrs but have been in antique tractors for 10 yrs

Polfin

bocephus_k6

My dad and myself started in the old iron hobby some 25 or better years ago, and like has been said, time sure flies. My son has taken into the hobby as well now and I hope someday his children will as well.

Brian

Chief74

42 years. I still have one of the first, a little Ideal with 10" flywheels. I guess it wasn't all that old when I first got it!

Chief

shanelc50

I started with my first engine, (a Maytag) and a few Reo's when I was of the ripe old age of 5. I'm 36 now and still addicted.:crazy:

Grape

Subscriber