• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron, please register and join us. When you register on Smokstak, give complete answers and fill in all blanks. IF YOU ARE ON WIRELESS. GIVE YOUR CITY AND STATE! NO ZIPCODES! We get hundreds of applications, so there is no time to deal with missing information.

Injector Problems

b7100

Subscriber
Last Subscription Date
07/10/2019
I have an American/ Detroit 3/8" injector. It is picking up water ok but it is blowing it out the overflow. When I try to throttle the intake down it quits picking up. I am able to remove the injector and blow air through to where it enters the boiler. Steam pressure 70#. I have tested for air leaks on the intake side. I have had the injector apart several times.everything appears to be clean, all holes are open. I have limited experience with injectors. I've been reading about troubleshooting but can't seem to find an answer.

chrsbrbnk

Registered
Re: Injector problems

check what pressure the injector can run at they have a range like 40-80 or 90-150 if the injector is a oversized it seemed like turning the steam almost full blast and regulate the water worked and on I was guessing on closer to correct sized it seems like water full blast and steam throttled then Jeff Lund showed me a trick where you have a extra valve teed off the out put of the injector have the vlv open when you start the injector then gradually close the as the injector kick in I think helps with the inertial problems of getting the water moving if you think basically with an injector you exchanging heat /pressure into velocity then velocity into pressure

b7100

Subscriber
Last Subscription Date
07/10/2019
My heat exchanger has 1/8" intake and 1/4" out as per Ralph Andres' book/plans. I have read that it should be same as injector (3/8). Would that be the issue? A lot of rewovrking if it is. If it is it would be a major flaw In Ralphs book/ plans that should be of concern to anyone using his plans.

b7100