• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron machinery, register and join us. When you register on Smokstak, please give complete answers and fill in all blanks. IF YOU ARE ON WIRELESS OR SATELLITE, GIVE YOUR CITY AND STATE! NO ZIPCODES! All registrations are manually approved.

Kohler 10M61H3 genset (1948) question

Grand1530

Registered
Hello everyone: I am totally new to this and any forum so I hope you will bear with me during the learning curve. I am presently working on replacing the rear crankshaft seal on our original Kohler of Kohler 10M61H3 genset s/n 100948. It is a 1948? model 10KW 10KVa 115/230 44 amps/terminal 1 phase 60cycle 1200 RPM genset in incredible condition despite the extensive hours it would have on it(is an ex "early warning defence system" genset). Motor is a Waukesha FC.140E 3.25X4 gas s/n 625900 4411 running at 1200 RPM. I am unable to separate engine from generator body so I can replace rear crank seal on engine. The operator manual I have has a partial parts listing but is somewhat incomplete in the area where the generator shaft attaches to the armature. Could be some corrosion but unit has been inside a dry location its entire life. We removed 6 bolts from a hub behind cooling fan that I thought might be attached to generator shaft and the four bolts that attach end plate onto generator body but unit will not separate more than give in crankshaft and armature bearings.. Any advice or info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Brent

Mike Cushway

Registered
Brent,