• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron, please register and join us. When registering, please provide your CITY and STATE as your location!

Need battery supplier

David OBrien

Registered
Does anyone know of a supplier who handles the 1.5 volt batteries of the design these old engines once used? I can remember using the same style battery in my middle school science class, twently some odd years ago. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks Harry for this fine websight.

JohnMN

Subscriber
Last Subscription Date
07/12/2019
Here is one source I found:

http://www.sargentwelch.com/product.asp_Q_pn_E_WLS30844_EA_A_1.5V+Ignition+Dry+Cell+Battery_E_

but look at the price - Ouch! And, I don't think these are rechargable; once they're dead, it's all over. I've been using small motorcycle batteries for a few years now. They are inexpensive, rechargable, and last for years if properly cared for. The old dry cells do look kind of cool, but hidden inside a battery box, nobody can see my motorcycle battery anyway.

Elden DuRand

In Memory Of
Last Subscription Date
12/22/2017
David O'Brien said:
Does anyone know of a supplier who handles the 1.5 volt batteries of the design these old engines once used? I can remember using the same style battery in my middle school science class, twently some odd years ago. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks Harry for this fine websight.
I've seen some sealed lead-acid rechargeable batteries that are virtually identical to the old doorbell batteries. I think they came out of some telephone switching equipment.

The guy duplicated the label from an original carbon-zinc battery and, except for the terminals, you could hardly tell the difference.

You might want to search the web for them.

Take care - Elden
http://home.cybertron.com/~edurand

Dick Welty

Registered
David,

I think that Elden is right that drycell batteries were last used in the Telephone industry.