• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron machinery, register and join us. When you register on Smokstak, please give complete answers and fill in all blanks. IF YOU ARE ON WIRELESS OR SATELLITE, GIVE YOUR CITY AND STATE! NO ZIPCODES! All registrations are manually approved.

Onan 6.0 DJB-3CR C spec 1985 yr - Getting to run

DCWatmough

Registered
Hello Onan Masters! I am new to old Onans and this forum. I have learned a great deal after spending a couple hours reading previous posts about these wonderful, simple diesel generators. Thank you. This one can't have more than a couple hours of run time, just sat as residential backup. When I got it, I found the starter solonoid inoperative - took it apart, cleaned the contacts and had starter. Next was fuel system - drained & cleaned fuel filters, repaired pre-pump glass bowl leak [gskt] and used the manual primer to get fuel to the inj pump. Cranked it over and had fuel flow thru the return, figgured I'd fire it. Shot some PB Blaster into intake,cranked 'er, got her lubed up and then put the glow plugs to her. The old beast fired but didn't puff more than a couple strokes. Check for fuel delivery at the injectors,[remember my Dad doing that on his D4 Cat] and had none.Tried again with the PB but after keeping DJ running by direct injection down the intake, the head gskt blew. Found the govoner linkage seemingly frozen at the actuator shaft in the inj.pump.Tried freeing it but something was not right. I have no service manual for DJ and could'nt find an on-line one. So, I got my hands on a head gskt, replaced it, took the inj pump off and dove in. Took some time but after looking, poking,twisting & prodding I got the pump apart without mangling it. Cool & simple, found the plunger & fuel limiter [govener] stuck. Not much was corrosion, the working parts were fine so I cleaned & freed it all and reassembled DJ. I cranked it untill I had fuel to the injectors, primed it w/ some more PB and fired. A momen