• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron machinery, register and join us. When you register on Smokstak, please give complete answers and fill in the blanks. - IF YOU ARE ON WIRELESS OR SATELLITE, ENTER YOUR CITY AND STATE! NO ZIPCODES! All registrations are manually approved.

Onan: Rigging up 4.0 RV BFA

Dave85

Registered
I have a 4.0 RV 4kw generator. It’s not in the RV anymore. I’ve got it running now and have it on a cart. I’m trying to figure out how to wire it up. How many plugs should I run with it? Do I need a breaker panel of some kind? I’m new to working with generators and I’m not an electrician.

The model number is:
4.0BFA-1R/16004C

Serial:
C843755097

Zeromedic

Subscriber
Last Subscription Date
03/08/2020
Hi Dave,

Small world. I once had a 4kw Onan BFA, single 30+ amp 120v only just like yours. Mine was 1980 vintage.

If I still had it, I would run the output 10 gauge stranded (or 12) direct to a good "spec" grade duplex receptacle.
Even better, find one rated for 20 amps.

Then plug a pair of cheap power strips that have 11-13 amp switch/breakers into each outlet. Load as desired.

One or both power strips can be moved to more convenient locations with -good- quality extension cords.

I run a 12 gauge 40 ft contractor grade extension cord into the kitchen. Microwave runs fine, normal load is just
the refrigerator. Coffee maker as needed. The other feed is a 100 ft orange cord to wherever needed. Mostly left
feeding sat/dsl/wifi and tv's computers chargers led lights.

Steve

Dave85

Registered
Hi Dave,

Small world. I once had a 4kw Onan BFA, single 30+ amp 120v only just like yours. Mine was 1980 vintage.

If I still had it, I would run the output 10 gauge stranded (or 12) direct to a good "spec" grade duplex receptacle.
Even better, find one rated for 20 amps.

Then plug a pair of cheap power strips that have 11-13 amp switch/breakers into each outlet. Load as desired.