• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron, please register and join us. When registering, please provide your CITY and STATE as your location!

Started work on 1/3 scale Case

Case Place

Subscriber
Last Subscription Date
07/14/2019
Re: Started work on 1/3 scale case

Boy that brings back some fond memorises. Larry

livesteammack

Registered

I was wondering, where do you find blueprints for engines like that. Do you obtain copys of originals or do you measure an exsisting engine and scale it down. I have thought it would be neat to model a Case but I am not good with location information on the internet so I have not gone any further than thinking about it.:shrug:

Case Place

Subscriber
Last Subscription Date
07/14/2019

Livesteammack, somebody most likely somewhere along the way scaled down an existing piece of equipment. Tom Terning did this many years ago with a CASE 65 engine he had to develop for his 1/4 scale model and subsequently castings kits and drawings for us modelers. I would imagine he took his 1/4 scale drawings and just doubled all the dimensions for his 1/2 scale CASE 65 he was producing.

Chas Arnold, back in the late 1940's and early 1950's developed a set of plans for a 2" scale CASE 65. Ralph Andres then took those plans and copied all the lines and multiplied all the dimensions by a factor of 2 to come up with the 4" scale CASE 65 otherwise known as 1/3 scale.

So in any case, no pun implied, it takes someone a lot of work and time to measure and document a particular piece of equipment for modeling purposes.

If interested, I do have a original set of 1" and 2" scale drawings of the CASE 65 from the time period mentioned above available. Send me a PM if interested.

Hope this answers your questions, Larry

Last edited:

Casemaker

Registered

Tom Terning bought existing patterns and blueprints from one of two individuals that did most of the work developing the 1/4 Case models.