• If you like antique engines, vintage tractors or old iron, please register and join us. When registering, please provide your CITY and STATE in your location!

Webster Tri Polar Oscillator Help

walkswithsticks

Registered
Last Subscription Date
01/13/2016
As you can see from my post count, I am fairly new at this, and now I am completely baffled by a problem.

I am working on a Galloway 3hp #47424. The numbers on the magneto are as follows: Type L16 Milton Brown Patents. The other end of the brass strip reads No 630951 McInnerney Podlesak Patents. Of course, it ran fine when stored 11 years ago. This lead me to believe that a little cleanup and such would get it running, but that has not proven out.

Early attempts at starting it would occasionally produce a few hits resulting in gray smoke rings and a modest poof. After several hours of tinkering, I now can get nothing. If I hold the intake valve in (grounding me to the engine) and hold the wire leading from the mag to the ignitor, I can feel no spark whatsoever.

We pulled the magnets and cleaned all surfaces. We did notice that the magnets will barely hold up one end of a common nail.

We disconnected to lead to the ignitor and hooked up a coil and battery. It still would not fire, and the coil and battery soon overheated due to it being a closed circuit. My Associated and United engines have the ability to move a spring and select an open or closed points position. My thought was to make further attempts with the battery and coil, but I cannot see how to change the points to a normally open configuration.

Before I spend a princely sum of money to have the mag rebuilt, I would like to get it running on a battery and coil setup. Any thoughts?

Attachments

Dan Baalman

Registered
Last Subscription Date
03/26/2017