• If you like what you see here and your interests are compatible with our 30,000 other users, Welcome. Fill out the registration form with your interests, your real name (seen only by moderators) and your city, state or country. Your account is then manually checked and approved. There is too much funny business on the web for us to do otherwise. Be sure to use a working email address and do not use cloaking or anonymous web connections.

Wisconsin VH4D Crank

RedneckRothrock

Registered
Hello, I am new to all this "forum stuff" but registered because I saw a lot of good info being exchanged.
I am working on a Wisconsin VH4D out of a M-610 Bobcat Skidsteer. Am I correct that Bobcat had Wisconsin put a different crank in this engine to accommodate their funky clutch? The crank is wiped and I have not seen any cranks available with this short tapered end. Anyone know where I can find one? Anyone ever heard of a machine shop cutting down & tappering a standard crank? I had a machine shop offer to try but I am skeptical.

Andrew Mackey

Last Subscription Date
05/14/2017
By wiped, do you mean the journals are scored undersized? If so, the crank can be welded up and then cut back to original specs. Trying to machine the end of a regular crank may or may not work, depending on how hard the metal is on your crank.

DCAmp

Subscriber
Last Subscription Date
02/17/2020
I am not sure but the crank may be the same as in a generator. We bought a gen engine and had to have a tapered adp. made to install a pully. Any good machine shop should be able to turn the crank and thread it. I have a 610 bobcat also.

gdstew

Registered
Wisconsin made lots of different cranks, so many that they actually furnished their dealers with crankshaft drawings. Since it would take months to get a crank from the factory, we were suppose to buy a standard crank, get the correct drawing, and take it to the local machine shop. The cranks were stamped with a variation number on the counterweight.